Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-26-2011, 03:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Deactivated carbon to cycle new tank?

About to indulge in another tank as a late christmas present for myself and I was wondering if I could use deactivated carbon from my established tank as a way to kick start the new tank? The carbon isn't deactivated yet, but it has been in the tank for 3-4 weeks and I was about to change it for another activated carbon soon anyways.
__________________

__________________
arloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 04:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Yes you can use it to seed the new tank. It will house some BB.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 04:18 PM   #3
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Carbon really isnt necessary in an aquarium in general unless you are trying to remove meds. Are you throwing away your carbon filters every few weeks? By doing this, you are throwing away all of your beneficial bacteria that has grown on your filter & probably risking a mini-cycle. Yes, you can use the old filter from your tank to help seed the new tank but you should also consider switching to a more permanent type of filter media (sponges, foam, polyfill) rather than wasting money on carbon replacements every few weeks & disposing of your good bacteria. Hope this helps!
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 04:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Oh thanks guys . and @jlk yeah i've heard of carbon not being entirely necessary, especially since i'm not removing any medicines of any sorts. I currently have a sponge, carbon and bio-max as filter media and I have been reading up on using purigen over carbon. however, the idea of recharging it using bleach isnt something I like since bleach may leak into my tank if i'm not careful. are there any other kinds of filter media i can replace carbon with? would it be okay to just invest in another sponge?
__________________
arloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 04:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlk View Post
Carbon really isnt necessary in an aquarium in general unless you are trying to remove meds. Are you throwing away your carbon filters every few weeks? By doing this, you are throwing away all of your beneficial bacteria that has grown on your filter & probably risking a mini-cycle. Yes, you can use the old filter from your tank to help seed the new tank but you should also consider switching to a more permanent type of filter media (sponges, foam, polyfill) rather than wasting money on carbon replacements every few weeks & disposing of your good bacteria. Hope this helps!
Agree that carbon isn't necessary, but it sounds like the OP has an Aqua Clear filter where the carbon is a separate insert from sponge and ceramic media.

@ the OP- Yes, you can use your carbon insert to seed your new tank. I run my Aqua Clears with 2 sponges stacked on top of one another, and the Bio Max insert on top.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 05:06 PM   #6
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by arloa View Post
Oh thanks guys . and @jlk yeah i've heard of carbon not being entirely necessary, especially since i'm not removing any medicines of any sorts. I currently have a sponge, carbon and bio-max as filter media and I have been reading up on using purigen over carbon. however, the idea of recharging it using bleach isnt something I like since bleach may leak into my tank if i'm not careful. are there any other kinds of filter media i can replace carbon with? would it be okay to just invest in another sponge?
I dont know anything about purigen & the thought of having anything 'charged' with bleach in my tank is a scary one! I personally like the sponges & have them all over the place instead of carbon. They are inexpensive & hold up pretty well!
__________________

__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon, cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank upgrade size & position decisions librarygirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 12-23-2011 02:09 PM
New tank - How to cycle quickly? J12bon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-30-2011 06:09 PM
Cycle new 10Gal tank help please Master503 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 18 10-17-2011 09:21 PM
Im getting ready to cycle a tank tomorrow! brittanykluss Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-05-2011 02:49 AM
New to forum and very frustrated with my tank! MaraLSky Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 09-04-2011 10:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.