Diary of the 10G GBR/Bolivian Grow-Out Tank w/pics 7/22/06..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lonewolfblue

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well, here it goes. Just the other day, my GBR's layed eggs. And I got out as many as I could. And being a newbie, I failed, lol. There were probably about 200-300 eggs, and when I got done, I think I have maybe 100-125 eggs. The rest I lost. Don't use a turkey baster, lol. Bad idea. Next time I'll submerge a small container, then will use a spoon to take small thin sections out, til all the eggs are removed. That will probably be the easiest thing to do with minimal damage..

Now that I got that out of my hair, lol, on to the good stuff.....

Day 1: Transferred eggs to 10G tank.
Day 2: Eggs are still eggs. lol
Day 3: Eggs this morning, a few wigglers after getting home from work. Yes, I got Wigglers........ (y)
They are still hatching as we speak. I just looked and got 6 so far. But a lot still to come. :) Will keep you posted of all that goes on... :)

Congrats on getting some wigglers Lonewolfblue!! Hopefully they will all survive :D

I was just wondering, why was using a turkey baster such a hassle? I thought that would have been the best way to remove the eggs. Also, did you do anything special to your 10g to help the fry out in anyway?

As for the turkey baster, well, lol.

First, the eggs stick to the surface. So that means they are sticking to the gravel. When you use the baster, and go to move them to the container, the gravel is heavier and go out the end of the baster, lol. So by the time I got them to the container, which is submerged in the tank, I lost over half the gravel from the baster, which were scattered in the tank, lol.

So that's my turkey baster experience. LOL