Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-27-2021, 06:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 6
Disinfecting Aquarium Sand with Pool Chlorine

Hey this is my first post. Unfortunately about a month ago I ordered five sorority Betta fish online. They seem very healthy and lively when I first put them in, until about a week later when my original fish started getting sick. They had dropsy, and some of them got really thin. I did everything that I could to try to save the fish, melafix, fungus cure, salt baths. Eventually I just started euthanizing them when I noticed that they were sick. But unfortunately today I had to tear down the entire aquarium and euthanize all the remaining fish. So what I'm wondering is can I use chlorine to disinfect the aquarium. I have about $150 worth of substrate at the bottom of my tank, and I don't want to start over. It's not enough to reasonably boil. And I'm nervous about using bleach because I don't think I'll be able to properly rinse the substrate. So I'm thinking I should use chlorine so that I can use aquarium dechlorinator to remove excess chlorine I'm not able to rinse out. My aquarium is a 55 gallon and I'm physically disabled, so I doubt that I'll be able to take it off the shelf and rinse it out physically. I am going to use bleach on my artificial aquarium plants and other decorations, because I'll be able to reach those out. Any advice would be greatly appreciated I'm really devastated by the loss of all of my fish and I'm trying to give it a good start.

__________________
Theafishtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2021, 02:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,933
Yes you can bleach is. The biggest issue you will have is it rinse it as best you can and then soak it in Prime. Set it up cycle it and try again.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, aquarium sand, bacterial infection, disinfecting, pool, sand, tank cleaning

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best sand for corydoras: Play sand or Pool filter sand? cass95 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 01-01-2016 07:00 PM
pool filter sand or 3M black quartz sand???? FiShDuDe9 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-06-2009 01:18 PM
New tank: pool filter sand + live sand? dsmalls Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-18-2008 03:19 PM
swimming pool filter sand or 'normal' pool sand? gu2high Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 09-26-2007 08:08 PM
Pleco's and Pool Filter Sand - Update - Added Sand Today! :) noteworthy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 01-02-2005 01:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.