DIY cave ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I prefer the natural look, but as long as it does its job I'm happy with anything. I'm just looking for something that's cheap, as I'm a poor highschool student haha

I prefer the natural look, but as long as it does its job I'm happy with anything. I'm just looking for something that's cheap, as I'm a poor highschool student haha

Haha I understand. Im a poor college student lol
Pvc pipe is about to be your best friend I think! What you can do is get the pvc, silicone, and a bag of sand or rocks. Coat the pvc in silicone and roll in the sand or rock. Let dry and done!

I was thinking of something like that, I read on a different thread on here that someone did something similar with a water bottle, would that work?

My husband got a huge rock and carefully used a grinder to create the cave , free :)

image-2495286441.jpg

image-3935859627.jpg

Obviously soaked it for days , but it's like a sand stone, we have quarry's with it over here in Tenerife ... My Pleco loves it :)

You can make coconut caves.
Get a coconut, cut it in half, take out all of the meat and boil the hard part (I don't know what they're called).

You can do this before or after boiling but cut out an opening on the front of the hard, brown part. You can silicone the two halves to get her to make one hug hut or have two smaller ones.

I'm thinking I'm going to combine the PVC pipes with natural slate rock caves for almost like a miniature version of a rock wall 3D background I'll post pictures as soon as its done :) hopefully today

I have made 2 caves from pieces of slate. Bought a 12"x12" piece for lowes and broke it up with a hammer then used silicone to hold it together.

Attachments

• image-3480428926.jpg
    image-3480428926.jpg
    158.8 KB · Views: 741
  • image-3083876290.jpg
    image-3083876290.jpg