Do I dare... get a dwarf gourami?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

callisto9

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I was at PetSmart over lunch getting some bloodworms for my peacock gudgeons and I saw many gouramis - flame, blue, dwarf, kissing, honey... I about died. :blink: My LFS doesn't really carry them because he says they are prone to so many problems.

I finally got to see the dwarfs up-close and personal. They are marked insanely cheap - like $2 or so.

I want one so bad. Am I just setting myself up for heartache? Are they on sale because of the poor quality?

I know your tank is relatively new so I'm gonna say wait till its established, but I'm a novice myself!
I bought 2 dg's when my tank was 3 months old, one died about 3 weeks later really suddenly, no idea why, the other one lasted about another month then went a weird brown colour and died a day or 2 later. That was at the same time that most of my community was wiped out by an unknown bug of some sort :-(
I've since found out about dg disease, so I'd be really reluctant to get another.
That's just my personal experience though, aside from that I know very little about them!

Yes, I'm only about a month into my tank, and it's cycled and about 80% stocked according to AqAdvisor.

I don't mind waiting...but how long would you advice? A few weeks? Months?

Thanks for your input. Where did you get yours?

I personally would treat them like neon tetras and wait till 6 months.
I'm in the UK, and lucky enough to live just 5 mins drive from a LFS that was voted top in a fish keeping magazine... Although they do sometimes give me advice that goes against everything I read here!
Good luck if you do get some, but I hope someone who knows more on them will give you their input :)