Do I have the wrong platy breed?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kristin27

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Thank you to everyone who keeps answering all the questions I ask about my fish. I am really new with platies and am slowly starting to pick things up!
I do have another questions..

I have four platies (all female) in a 10-gallon tank, which has been running for a little over a month. Within the first week of having the platies, I needed to replace one of them because she was a bully, and constantly chasing and head-butting the other fish. I exchanged her for another fish of her breed (which were cheaper, and only called "assorted platy" with no real name.

Everything was fine with the new fish until a couple weeks ago, she has progressivly become more and more violent, just like the last one I replaced. I could see the other fish were stressed too, so i changed the water but she was still violent after that. Today, I removed her from the tank for an hour and put her in a seperate bowl. And INSTANTLY (not even 5 seconds after she was gone) the other fish were swimming around, up and down, happily the way they always used to.

I'm assuming this means that the mean fish's violence kept them in fear, and stressed them out. They were happy again as soon as she was gone. So I'm thinking of taking the mean fish back to the store to do ANOTHER exchange. The thing is... how can I make a good judgement this time so I dont have to go back again?
Why are both fishes of this breed ("assorted platy") violent? Could it be because they're smaller than the others? Or maybe there is just something wrong with that breed and thats why they're cheaper.

Anyway, if anyone has any input or advice for me, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks a lot!

Kristin

kristin27 said: