Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2013, 06:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 445
Does tetra safe start really work as advertised?

I set my 60 gallon up last night after weeks of "planning" and went to a mom and pop fish store that was actually going out of business and got some really good pieces of driftwood with plants etc. He also threw in a bottle of tetra safe start with my order. He just gave it to me and he had a price on it of $18. Anyway, does it really allow to add fish immediately? If so, how many fish can i add with it. I plan on fish like fancy guppies, tetras, red wags, rasboras etc. What can i stock with this tetra safe start if anything? 60 gallon 48' x 13' and is 2 feet deep.
__________________

__________________
piao liang yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
It does work to help get your tank cycled expeditiously. I've used it before on my first tank with success. However, you still need to add fish very slowly, a little bit at a time. Start with the most hardy fish that you plan to stock in this tank. Monitor your parameters with a good liquid test kit such as API Freshwater Master Test Kit. Once you start seeing ammonia and/or nitrites get dangerously high, do an immediate partial water change. Keep monitoring until you see some nitrates in the tests. Then you can continue to add more fish, a little bit of a time. Eventually, you'll have a fully cycled tank with a full stock. Just exercise patience.
__________________

__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
You can also do a fish-less cycle with TSS. You just need a pure ammonia source such as Ace Hardware Brand ammonia to get the bacteria thriving from the TSS. This is safest route. But if you really want to cycle with fish... Zebra Danios or Cherry Barbs are a good hardy fish to start with.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
On a side note... Sad news about a LFS going out of business, especially a mom and pops' establishment. That's good you went there to buy from them. Too bad more people didn't do that prior to them losing the business.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
On a side note... Sad news about a LFS going out of business, especially a mom and pops' establishment. That's good you went there to buy from them. Too bad more people didn't do that prior to them losing the business.
Yeah, i did not even know about them. An individual i bought some plants from told me about them. I got most of what you see in my tank for $50 including the water conditioner/dechlorinator and the tetra safestart.
__________________
piao liang yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
Honestly, people say they dont work. They just dont shake the bottle!
__________________
Oscar and ClownKnife Fish Lover
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
You can also do a fish-less cycle with TSS. You just need a pure ammonia source such as Ace Hardware Brand ammonia to get the bacteria thriving from the TSS. This is safest route. But if you really want to cycle with fish... Zebra Danios or Cherry Barbs are a good hardy fish to start with.
I actually hope to be patient enough to do a full fishless cycle and add more plants to even possibly accomplish a "silent cycle", but if i were to get some cherry barbs how many should i start with? Since they are a schooling fish it would need to be at least five right? How many should i start with IF if decide to cycle with the tetra safestart?
__________________
piao liang yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
Well I started with 3 in my 12 gallon when I used TSS (no losses). So I think it would be safe to say 5 for the 60g.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
Here's a good read on TSS...
Autotrophic Nitrifying Bacteria and Their Practical Application in a Freshwater Aquarium
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 163
I used Safe Start on three tank with great results. Just make sure you use their water conditon AquaSafe. If you do use something like Prime you will need to wait 24/48 hours before adding Safe Start. This was the only product that actually worked for me.
__________________
Nelsontreyjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:34 PM   #11
Lt.
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lt.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Butte, Montana
Posts: 809
I use Stability when starting a new tank. It worked as advertised for me.
__________________
Whenever I watch the News, no matter what network it is, i'm like:
Lt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:44 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Chicago, IN
Posts: 4,856
I've had good luck starting 3 tanks with Tetra SafeStart. I stocked very minimally and the place I bought it from keeps it in the fridge.
__________________

Brenna
brennae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:28 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
I used Stability and it worked great for me.
__________________

FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
safe, start, tetra

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.