driftwood?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

onah

Aquarium Advice Freak
i was noticing all the driftwood places just find theres in a lake or river spray the heck out of it and sell it. does this mean i can go down to my local lake and fish out a few peices and blast them off and let them dry and toss them into the tank?

I'm not so sure onah but then again i live in the UK so i have no idea as to what the driftwood is like. Personally i perhaps wouldn't but if you steralise the wood then drain any colour out of it by dumping it in a bucket of water for a few days (change the water daily) then it will probably be ok. Steralisation would surely be the key though, i'm no expert but that is what i would do if i wanted to use some.

HTH

If it is truly driftwood, you could get it from local bodies of water. I'd be sure to clean it well and either bake or boil it before putting it in your tank. Also, make sure you know the place you are getting it from isn't contaminated in any way.

i just set up a new tank and put some found drift wood in.

i boiled it for about 40 minutes and then soaked it for a couple days. i tested the water it sat in and everything checked out.

when i put the tank together, i put rocks on top of it to hold it under the water.

I would definately boil it to kill any hitchhikers that are on or in the wood. I did this with beach drift wood and it has worked really well. My BN love it and so do the otos. I did boil it like 15 times to get it sink because I let it dry out. Always better safe than sorry.