Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-06-2004, 01:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Arlington Virginia USA
Posts: 134
dumb lighting question

ok here goes,
I have two 18W flourscent strips for my 55gal, they are the kind that come with the tank(from PetsMart). If I want to increase lighting for my plants do I just buy bulbs with higher watts or to replace the strips as a whole?
THX.

__________________
mikemou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 01:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 188
I fear you will have to replace the strips, as I do not think they can cope with higher watts. You can check.
__________________
astroguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 04:45 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
The ballasts are rated for specific watts of bulbs. If you can get at the ballast, there should be a sticker telling you the wattage of bulbs it can handle. However, I doubt that the stock petsmart canopy will have a fancy ballast that can handle higher wattage bulbs (those ballasts are EXPENSIVE ).
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 07:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Arlington Virginia USA
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsoong
If you can get at the ballast, there should be a sticker telling you the wattage of bulbs it can handle.
Yeah, I think it says 18 W.

So, where can I find those 'powerful' strips that happens to have the same length and width of my current strips? Do they all come in in a standard size? I don't want to lose the hood/canopy(?) unless I have to.
__________________
mikemou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 08:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to LAGlocker Send a message via Yahoo to LAGlocker
Go with a compact, ah supply has great ones http://www.ahsupply.com/
or even check big als if you want to http://www.bigalsonline.com/splash.html
or you can go to hellolights http://www.hellolights.com/
just decide how much light you want on your tank, wpg that is and get one to fit. they come in many different sizes and wattage ratings, so Im sure you will find what you are looking for
__________________
Live in or around Alabama? Why dont you check out the Alabama Regional Forum.

Sold all tanks but
29 gal planted(lightly) tank now with 10 neons, 9 serpae tetras, 4 otos, 2 kribs and 3 gourami for the moment.
LAGlocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 08:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: st louis
Posts: 221
We are also having a sale on JBJ lighting and can price beat anyone on these

It is true there is no way for that unit to just increase the bulb wattage as it will do nothing
__________________
Marcus S Russo
marcus russo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
normal fluorescent bulbs are about 10watts per foot of tube length. Most strip lights use a magnetic ballast, so if the ballast is an 18 watter, the bulb can't run more than 18 watts. If you hooked up a 35foot long tube, it'd still only run at 18 watts.

Electronic ballasts are better, but expensive. Some of them have load sensors, and can read the bulb they're hooked up to, and power it appropriately. With electronic ballasts, you can also OverDrive a normal bulb, tripling its output, but shortening it's lifespan proportionately.

I agree get a power compact light, either by retro fitting, or buying a fixture. www.hellolights.com sells kits and full hoods too.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dumb lighting question mfdrookie516 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 14 12-03-2009 11:52 PM
Dumb question but I have to ask... havefun Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 03-13-2005 10:44 AM
Probably a dumb question . . . blorkiemom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-08-2004 06:08 PM
Dumb Betta question or dumb betta? dralarms Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-15-2003 07:29 AM
Another dumb question....on lighting Hara Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 11-16-2002 09:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.