Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-06-2007, 04:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 88
Emperor 400

Overkill for a 20 gal? 8)

__________________
Diablos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 04:55 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I think so. Why not the Emporer 280?
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 863
Leave it on low and see.

It's not bad if you want a bigger tank later. I had one on my 29 and I had an easy cycle to my 55 with the same filter.
__________________
lovemybarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,107
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
As long as it doesn't blow your fish around the tank uncontrollably I'd leave it on the tank.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 384
I had a biowheel 350 in my 20 gallon tank. upgrading them isn't that much more, and now I'm glad I did. I'm using it now in my 55 gallon. If I had got one that was just big enough, I wouldn't have been able to do that. I wouldn't go insane, but overfiltering, I think (unless you have fish who don't like strong currents, like bettas) isn't a bad idea.
__________________
Regen311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 05:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 25
As lovemybarbs said just leave it on low (if option is there?)

It will clean that tank very well and will stop you from having to buy another filter if you upgrade to a larger tank later,I've alway's over filtered my tank's,I have an ac110 on my 55 and my water is crystal clear and i barely ever have to do a big clean on my tank
__________________
shumway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 06:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 385
go for it dude. my fav maxim on fish is u cant have enough filtration.
__________________
physicsdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 07:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 88
roger dodger will do!
__________________
Diablos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emperor 400? ksfishguy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-09-2006 10:45 PM
emperor 400 dodgersfan25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 10-24-2004 09:46 PM
emperor 400 hacksaw_dan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-30-2004 08:39 PM
emperor 400 fesone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-14-2003 05:07 PM
Question about Emperor 400 toddwess General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 10-01-2003 09:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.