Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-07-2013, 01:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
As the title says, I have extremely high parameters. The nitrAte reads 5ppm, so that's okay. Nitrite reads 2-5ppm! And ammonia reads 8ppm. I brought the wrong product and ended up getting ammonia lock. So it detoxifies ammonia but doesn't get rid of it. I am doing 50-75% water changes daily for the last 2 days and results haven't changed apart from the fact that the Nitrite may of gone down to 2ppm. Any idea how ican get levels down? I'm desparate! I did a water change on thursday and added new sand. I forgot to clean the sand before adding... Would that be it? I've added six new plants to try and help with ammonia... I've added a bubbled to get more oxygen flowing, and another filter, bringing me up to 3 internal filters! There's only a few tetras, 2BNP and 2 cores in the tank so I don't know what it could be? I really need suggestions and fast. My apistogrammas are coming in a week or two
__________________

__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Sounds like the tank is recycling. Did something get into the tank to kill the BB?
__________________

__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Aquena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 52
I am going through similar situation, so I subscribed to your thread. People told me despite many 50-60% water changes and clean tank, my water may be the culprit of continuing high nitrites. I am going to test my water today.
__________________
75 Gallon Freshwater•Tetras, Pleco, Platys, Cory's, Danios, and Marble Hatchets• 4 Baby Platy Fry in breeder box•
Aquena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
Sounds like the tank is recycling. Did something get into the tank to kill the BB?
I don't see what could? I really hope this sorts out
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Aquena: I tested my water for ammonia,Nitrite and nitrate and found nothing
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Are you sure no soap, chlorinated water, etc etc etc got in? For now just do lots of water changes.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
Are you sure no soap, chlorinated water, etc etc etc got in? For now just do lots of water changes.
Nope, no soap, I'm the only one who puts anything in the tank. I always treat my water so it can't be that. Maybe I cleaned it too thoroughly
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Possibly.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
I just don't get why the levels aren't changing after all I've done
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:15 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
It will take a while for the BB to recolonize. Do you have any other tanks you could get seeded media from?
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:17 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
No I don't.. I only have a week and if these levels aren't sorted out I will lose my apisto's
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:52 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
So I should keep doing 50% water changes daily? I'm not feeding that much either
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Yeah I wood. Can you get a hold of duckweed, hornwort, dwarf water lettuce, or anarcharis? Load you tank with those and they will help with ammonia and nitrates.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:05 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Nah I can't. I just added six new plants this weekend. I just don't see how this happened do you think this will solve itself in the space of a week and a half?
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:07 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Not sure, I mean if all the BB got wiped out, then I think it would take longer. Just keep up on your water changes. Hopefully someone else chimes in with ideas...
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:09 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Yes would appreciate lots of other peoples opinions too!
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:33 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Would it be a good idea to not touch anything for a few days and not do a water change?
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 05:01 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
No ideas? I really need to know what to do! Been looking up online but not getting many results
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 08:03 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
The other day you said your tap water had high nitrites? With ammonia and nitrite readings that high you can't just let it alone for a few days or the fish will suffer greatly. The ammo lock makes the ammonia less toxic to fish and Prime, which is what I would be using keeps nitrite levels less toxic when used daily. What is your ph? If you tanks ph is too low at 6.5 BB activity starts to slow and at 6 BB activity stops. So you might want to check that out. If your tap levels are good with no readable ammonia, nitrites, or nitrates then do a 50% WC, wait two hours, do another 50% WC, wait 24 hours and take a reading. If you continue getting high readings I would recheck your water supply.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 02:06 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Nope I made a mistake, I had two samples, one of tap water, and one of tank. I got them mixed up! Tap water has 0ppm
__________________

__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.