favoritest schooling fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

veetors

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey all!

I was just wondering what everyone's favorite schooling fish is and why?

Thanks!

Veetors

Clown Loaches, as they will play follow the leader. They also pack switch blades under their eyes, allowing them live peacefully with large aggressive tank mates.

Beginner here . Only got Red eyed Tetra's and Zebra Danio's and the Danio's are my favourite to date . They are so active and fun to watch .

Nice! I've had neons in the past, but not enough to actually see them school. I have silver dollars right now and I see them school every once in a while unless they get scared and a couple of them will just hide under my driftwood...

It really depends on if the schooling fish is a bottom feeder, or a normal swimmer.

If we were talking about normal swimmers, I would have to go with Harlequin Rasbora. They stay pretty small, you can have largish schools in even small tanks, and huge schools in large tanks. They have some real amazing personalities, most i've seen in most fish.

If we were talking about bottom feeders, I would go with the dwarf cories. They are so fun to watch if you have a large school of 10+. Swimming back and fourth in a big tank, just like a train. When they go up on the walls they do this train, single file, line thing. On the ground they stick with just a large group, but it's so amazing watching them.

My favorite are discus because they have a pecking order and seem to be more intelligent than other schooling fishes.

I like neons, cories, and SAE's. Cherry barbs are pretty good too. So are Brichardi