Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-17-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Red face Feeding fish

I am new to this field, some days ago i start 10 gallon tank with 2 betta- 1m and 1F. and 2 koi. My problems is both these betta always sit under and wont come to feed. all food is consumed by kois. so what can i do? is there some small cage available so i can block koi for some time, or any solutions?

Old 11-17-2012, 09:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Koi are pond fish and can reach 3 feet. Bettas get to three inches. We all make mistakes especially with the help of indiscriminate LFS. I would trade the Carp for maybe some Neon Tetras or start a pond.

Old 11-17-2012, 10:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Yeah, rehome the koi ASAP! The bettas should not be in the same tank, they may kill each other. Either get another tank for one of them, rehome one or if you wanna keep the bettas and can't/do not want to get another tank, look into getting a tank divider. We are not trying to sound mean, we are here to help. Good luck.
Old 11-17-2012, 10:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

[QUOTE="Tetra1990"]Yeah, rehome the koi ASAP! The bettas should not be in the same tank, they may kill each other. Either get another tank for one of them, rehome one or if you wanna keep the bettas and can't/do not want to get another tank, look into getting a tank divider. We are not trying to sound mean, we are here to help. Good luck and welcome.
Old 11-17-2012, 10:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice