Feeding fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

johnraj

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to this field, some days ago i start 10 gallon tank with 2 betta- 1m and 1F. and 2 koi. My problems is both these betta always sit under and wont come to feed. all food is consumed by kois. so what can i do? is there some small cage available so i can block koi for some time, or any solutions?

Koi are pond fish and can reach 3 feet. Bettas get to three inches. We all make mistakes especially with the help of indiscriminate LFS. I would trade the Carp for maybe some Neon Tetras or start a pond.

Yeah, rehome the koi ASAP! The bettas should not be in the same tank, they may kill each other. Either get another tank for one of them, rehome one or if you wanna keep the bettas and can't/do not want to get another tank, look into getting a tank divider. We are not trying to sound mean, we are here to help. Good luck.

Tetra1990 said:
Yeah, rehome the koi ASAP! The bettas should not be in the same tank, they may kill each other. Either get another tank for one of them, rehome one or if you wanna keep the bettas and can't/do not want to get another tank, look into getting a tank divider. We are not trying to sound mean, we are here to help. Good luck and welcome.

Seconded! The first thing that came to mind was, "Holy!" at the thought of 2 koi in a 10 gallon with 2 bettas. Those are expensive fish; either dig them a pond or take them back to the store, because they will die for sure if you keep them in that tank.

Last edited by a moderator:
johnraj said:
I am new to this field, some days ago i start 10 gallon tank with 2 betta- 1m and 1F. and 2 koi. My problems is both these betta always sit under and wont come to feed. all food is consumed by kois. so what can i do? is there some small cage available so i can block koi for some time, or any solutions?