Feeling discouraged. Pity party. Please cheer me up.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

threnjen

Aquarium Advice Addict
This is a pity party.

I'm really new at fishkeeping and so far it has been one discouragement after another.

I've only had fish for 4 weeks (did a full fishless cycle beforehand). 90g with 29g sump, the setup is awesome and took us a year to complete because we spent so much time researching, preparing, and making everything *perfect*. We did everything right, I thought.

Since it's had fish, we've had issues. Right now the main tank is being medicated for Columnaris (I had a lot of help diagnosing this), which most of my cories contracted opportunistically after 2 weeks of severe stress being terrorized under cover of night by 10 White Fin Tetras (removed). The cories are my absolute favorites, and now we only have 4 left of the 10 we began with, and who knows if they will live. They seem ok, but then the one that died today seemed ok too. I've spent gobs of money on meds, hospital equipment etc but nothing seems to save my beloved cories.

A bright spot was a little "mystery fry" that I found in our overflow, probably a Boesemani Rainbow. After a week and a half of taking extra special care of him and even giving him most of a tank to himself, he died today. He got around the barrier that divided the tank and kept him from the filter, and the filter was too crazy. That was my bright spot in face of all the bullcrap going on in the main tank. I cried.

I'm so discouraged. I'm tired of doing WC every day on the main tank and 2-3 on the 10 gallon which is uncycled but has all of my mystery snails so the meds won't kill them. I'm tired and I'm frustrated and I just need to know it will get better and someday my tank will be stable and I can enjoy it again. :banghead: