Female Betta and Male Guppies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bettababe1011

Aquarium Advice Addict
This may be a stupid question, but I can't find a straight answer online.

Could I successfully keep a female Betta in my twenty nine gallon community with six male guppies? I have experience and a lot of knowledge with male bettas, but almost no knowledge of things specific to female bettas. I know that males can't be kept with guppies, but I do know that females are much less aggressive than males.

Any help would be awesome. It wouldn't be until a couple weeks from now that I would get the Betta even. If you want more info on my tank, look up the thread,"My New Tank". Thanks in advance.

I've had this work and not work. I have no experience mixing males in communities, although I hear they even work with guppies sometimes. I have put females in many different settings though and have found you simply never know what you can expect. I've had them seem ferocious and aggresive in their cup and then once released into the tank be cool as a cucumber. I've also had them seem totally relaxed and then get into the tank and go crazy. I've had females that did great with any livebearer and females that couldn't handle any livebearer. I think that just like with the males, the only way to try a betta in any community setting is to have a back up plan. Whether it's an alternate tank or return to the store.

I have 6 female bettas in with 3 male guppies. Never once had an issue, my guppies were in first so I think that may have helped some.

Oh and I've heard that CT females are far more spunky, so you may want to avoid them to be cautious. I have one and she jumps out of the water to nab my finger, but leaves the guppies alone. But again, I have been warned they are feistier.