Filter Change Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NayaVe

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys,

So as some of you already know, I am still new to keeping an aquarium. I have been reading contradicting information on filters. Some say not to change cartridges and some say to change it monthly. I am hoping you guys can push me in the right direction on this. I have had my tank for a few weeks now and have started adding fish this past week or so.

I am not familiar with what "cycling" is and even if I have done that. I know that I set the tank up with conditioned water, live plants, a heater and the filter that came with the tank. I let it run for about a week before adding my first fish. The water parameters have seemingly been perfect every time I have checked them, even after adding fish and doing water changes. I am getting a new filter Friday due to the fact that the one that came with my tank seems like a piece of crap.. and I would like a filter that hangs off the side as my tank is already so small.

So questions:

How do I "cycle" the tank with the new filter on Friday?

How often should I be changing and/or cleaning my filter?

Hey guys,

So as some of you already know, I am still new to keeping an aquarium. I have been reading contradicting information on filters. Some say not to change cartridges and some say to change it monthly. I am hoping you guys can push me in the right direction on this. I have had my tank for a few weeks now and have started adding fish this past week or so.