Filter Confusion.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CaJa

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all. Since I'm new to all of this, I wanted to ask the experts. I searched for an answer but couldn't find one, so here goes...

I treated my 55 gallon tank with melafix due to a new addition who had some problems that I didn't notice until adding him. I removed him as soon as I noticed and in order to treat with the melafix i put my crabon filters in a bucket of new water that had been treated with Prime and StressZyme.

Now, I'm not sure if I really should replace with the same filters or if I need new ones. Do the filters I took out have a chance of holding the same harmful bacteria that the new addition brought with him? Should I just get new ones to be safe?

Thank you in advance.

Yes they hold the chance of having whatever you had but that's where all your bacteria live that keep your tank cycled. I would not replace them. Just add them back and treat the tank again if needed

Thanks for the help! i will put the old ones back in.

might i ask whats wrong with your fish and what kind? Melafix and primafix are pretty useless. I would invest in a quarantine/hospital tank if your deciding to go the big community tank route. Find some better meds too. I could help if you asked.

Since you put them in a bucket with new water I am assuming it was tap water and this will have killed of all beneficial bacteria. I would go with new filter media. Better safe than sorry.

If you already put them back in then I wouldn't worry about it but I would monitor the fish closely. What was the original problem?

Since you put them in a bucket with new water I am assuming it was tap water and this will have killed of all beneficial bacteria. I would go with new filter media. Better safe than sorry.