Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2006, 08:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Filter Media Help

What brand and type of carbon is the best for replacement. Ive used Marineland Black Diamond and it seems good but now I have a AC 50 Filter alonf with a Fluval canister on another tank and wanted to know what would be the best for both of them?

Also what should I replace my AC 50 Bio Max with(when the time comes), should I get there brand or someone elses?
__________________

__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I use ceramic rings instead of carbon. Have you thought about switching to rings?
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
You don't really need carbon. I don't use it unless I am removing meds. I'm with Fishy, just stick some ceramic rings in your Fluval. As far as I know, it doesn't matter what brand you choose. And don't replace your Biomax. It's not necessary.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Well the fluval is set up to stock, lower basket, carbon, middle carbon and ceramic rings, top basket ceramic rings. I figured if you need to replace the rings you should replace the BioMax in my AC since they serve the same purpose. I like the keep the carbon just to be safe and help remove anything in the water. Anyway any more suggestions?

Also what is filter floss and is it worth using?
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
As far as I know you don't need to replace the ceramic rings in your Fluval either. I don't.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Alright I was jsut going by what the instructions said. I still do need to replace the carbon, i saw Marineland Blackdiamond Blend which has ammonia-neutralizing crystals, or would is it pointless and I would just be better off with plain carbon?

Saw a Black Diamond Carbon 3.65L for 12bucks, seems like a good deal.
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Well, here's my opinion on the Black Diamond blend.

If your tank has cycled, it's not necessary because the bacteria will take care of the ammonia for you. If your tank has not cycled, the Diamond blend will slow the process down. You'll be fine with just regular carbon.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
I took the carbon out of my fluval and added porous bio-media. I have four baskets downstream of the pre-filter sponge. The first one has the coarse mechanical ceramic noodles, the next has floss for fine mechanical, and the upper two baskets have the original fluval bio-rings plus added seachem porous bio-media. The seachem stuff was cheaper than the fluval or eheim biomedia. I see no need to use carbon.

However, if you do decide to use carbon, skip the ones with ammonia nuetralizers and such. you don't need them, your porous biomedia is a much better ammonia nuetralizer once it is colonized!

BTW. I also have a small aquaclear. No carbon in that either, just the sponge, some floss, and then porous ceramic noodles for bacterial colonization. So i guess I would recommend to replace the carbon with porous biomedia.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:21 PM   #9
kaz
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,292
what media is the best in keeping your water nice and clear?
__________________
I thank you all for your attention and time!
75g/Rena Xp3/Inline Heater/Rena Air 200/Eco-Complete/Current Dual Daylight System
6 Rummy Nose, 9 Ottos, 2 Yoyo Loach, 1 Golden Nugget Pleco, 2 Julli's Cory, 4 Angelicus Botia, 1 Chocolate Kuhli Loach, 3 Ghost Shrimp, 1 SAE, 1 Black Mollie, 1 Redeye Swordtail Mollie, 1 C-Pleco, MTS, Guppy's
Plants
Argentine Sword, Amazon Sword, Micro Sword, Xmas Moss, Pennywort, Hornwort, Jave Fern, Baby Tears, Moneywort, Ludwigia, Wisteria, Giant Bacoba, Hygro 'Sunset'
kaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Should I use that filter floss stuff between my sponge and carbon, or bewteen the carbon and the BioMax stuff? Also what brand of floss should I use or does it matter?
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
I put it between the sponge and the bio rings. I bouight a bag of pillow stuffing at Walmart. It will last me forever, just be sure it has not been treated for mildew.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 10:00 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Think of the floss as your fine mechanical filtration. put it right after your coarse mechanical filtration (ie: sponge). This way, whatever you have after than doesn't clogg up as fast. Carbon (if used) and porouse biomedia I would put after the floss.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 02:11 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Alright, thanks very much, ill order some when i order the carbon.
__________________

__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filter media, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Ask?] ]Filter Media arkana1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 03-03-2009 08:23 AM
Changing filter media in HOB filter? SeeDemTails Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-13-2006 12:32 AM
Filter Media clownfish4 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 03-07-2006 05:49 AM
Filter Media bheusmann Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-05-2004 12:32 PM
Filter media Dewey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-03-2003 09:53 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.