First fish - problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kirstos

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys

This is my first post and I hope you can help! I am completely new to the hobby. I knew nothing about keeping tropical fish when I got my aquarium, and knowing what I know now I would not have done what I have done so far.

Basically, I have had my aquarium for 10 days. I have:
* a Aquaone Ecostyle 47 tank (38 litres)
* Three silver sharks, 6 black widow tetras and 4 platys.
* Gravel, a flat rock, a skull and live plants

After some very poor advice from my LFS, I bought the tank, gravel/plants etc and put the fish in the first day. After a day or so, two of the platies were showing signs of fin rot and fungus. I removed the carbon from the filter (left the sponges in) and treated the aquarium with interpret anti fin rot medicine. When my partner called into the fish store I bought them from, the tank the platys were in was under quarantine so I don't know if that was related to the fungus mine have. The treatment is due to be finished tomorrow and for those two platys, they look worse rather than better. I am unsure if I should medicate the tank again - will it be very harmful to the fish that do not have it?

I now also know that my tank is overstocked - the fish shop said it would be OK as I stated I would buy a larger tank when I was able to afford it in a few months. Should I remove the two platys with the fungus or treat the entire tank again (I don't have the money for a hospital tank unfortunately)