First time fishless cycle...nitrates not rising

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tiffanyleanne

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here! I need help with my aquarium. I have a 29 gallon tank and I'm doing a fishless cycle. It's been exactly one month of me running the cycle. I have been sprinkling in fish food everyday. My ammonia already spiked and dropped to zero. My nitrites spiked way too high last week (I think I added too much fish food, now I'm only adding every other day), I did a 30% water change. My nitrites have now gone down to 0. I'm having trouble with my nitrates though. So far the past 2 weeks I haven't seen it rise above 5ppm, and now the past 2 days it looks like it's less than 5ppm now. I'm using the API test kit. My pH has always been around 8.2 and temp is at 83. Is this normal? Or should I be doing something differently? I thought once the nitrites dropped nitrates would go up...I also wonder if the nitrites being too high did something to my cycle. Let me know what you think!

What did your ammonia get up to? You needed to get that up to 2ppm. With fish food, once you are at 2ppm, that should determine how much food you need to be feeding daily.

What did your nitrite get up to?

Really give bottle #2 on the nitrate test a good shake. Like bang it on the countertop.

If you are confident you where adding enough fish food to put in enough ammonia, that you continued to add that amount, that you are confident you did the tests correctly, the outcome of a nitrate test is irrelevant.

What did your ammonia get up to? You needed to get that up to 2ppm. With fish food, once you are at 2ppm, that should determine how much food you need to be feeding daily.

What did your nitrite get up to?

Really give bottle #2 on the nitrate test a good shake. Like bang it on the countertop.