Fish adjusting to new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Heyoka

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm pretty new to fishkeeping and have an established 29 gallon tank. About 6 weeks ago, I put my first fish in there: 2 female platies and a male. The one female gave birth about a week after I got her, and the other female is now pregnant.

Right after giving birth, I noticed a change in the one female. She became lethargic and was often found hiding in some water sprite I have floating at the surface. I put her in a breeder net at the suggestion of my lfs, who said that she probably was just being harassed by the male since she was no longer pregnant. She seemed to perk up once separated from him, so, on Friday, I set up a new 4 gallon tank and put the male in there. I've kept the lights off to reduce his stress, but it's been 3 days and he doesn't seem happy. He seems agitated and spends most of his time swimming around very fast. His pectoral fins move quickly even when he's at rest. What else can I do to help him adjust? I've been considering getting another fish to keep him company since nothing from my 29 gallon will do. Will this help?

What where your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate readings in this time? If the tank was 6 weeks old or less then it could have been cycling affecting the fish. As for the way the male is acting 4g is too small for him. He could be feeling cramped. What are the readings on the 4g tank also?

As of right now, ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates for both tanks are all 0.