Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-31-2020, 12:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Fish dying

I have cycled my tank, and ph is always high. I have had my tank since June of this year, and I have always had fish in the tank. I didnít correctly cycle it. But I think it is a cycle since I have regular water readings. Like 8.2, I have one angelfish, and I just bought seven barbs. My water is always a bit cloudy, and I clean my tank once a week. I am new to fish keeping, and I have a 29-gallon tank.

Any time I buy fish, they typically last one to two weeks and then die. My ammonia levels are at zero, and my nitrates normal, and my nitrate is minimal.

On a second note, I love my Gourami, and I wondered how many I could have in my tank. I was told only one with the angel.

I so badly want to have fish, but I canít keep anything alive other than my betta and my angelfish, which I have had for six months. I have tried guppies, Coryís, danios, tetras, plecos, rainbow shark, mollies, and I even tried ADF. For the hardiest of fish, they never seem to last.

The other thing that worries me is how often I am changing the filter. Which is like every other day. I changed my filter to include filter media and a sponge but place some of my old filters within the filter to help keep the bacteria.

Any suggestions are much appreciated!

Old 10-31-2020, 01:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

We need more information...hardscape? Setup?

Old 10-31-2020, 03:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic