Fish eating algea wafers.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jweickum

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey so I have a small 10g tank and I have have some tetras and I also have a Otto catfish. When I drop a wafer for him, my other fish storm the wafer and they scare the Otto away fom eating it. Any ideas? I tried an isolation tank but my Otto gets so skittish he will turn white and frantically try and jump out of my iso tank.

Also I'm new to the aquarium community. So what's up?

ottos do not generally eat algae wafers, they are more interested in the bio-film that grows in tank

hence why most people suggest putting ottos in mature tanks only say they have plenty of bio-film to munch on

ottos do not generally eat algae wafers, they are more interested in the bio-film that grows in tank

hence why most people suggest putting ottos in mature tanks only say they have plenty of bio-film to munch on

+1. I've never once seen my oto actually eat, just sucking on plants, driftwood and tank glass. He's fat as can be too. Otos are one of very few fish that you never have to feed if you give them the right environment, at least in my experience.

Edit: and welcome to AA!

Ok that's good to know then. I wish petco would have told me I needed an established tank before selling me one. So far almost all their advice has been wrong. Thanks guys!

Ok that's good to know then. I wish petco would have told me I needed an established tank before selling me one. So far almost all their advice has been wrong. Thanks guys!

Yep, that's usually how it goes. There are some people out there that know what they're talking about but the vast majority don't, that's why you should always do your own research before you make a purchase, but you already know that.