Fish for a 10 Gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rxblade123

Aquarium Advice Freak
What fish should I get for a 10 gallon? Right now I'm going for larger fish. What is the largest fish I can have, without it having any other tankmates?

If I can't have a larger fish, what smaller fish should I go with? I'm not good at raising fish. Couldn't even get guppies to breed........ Oh well, I could always try them again and I have learned much more now. So what would you suggest? I don't have any dislikes so just name some and if you could, send a link with lots of info on them. Don't want to kill the fish.

As far as a big fish for a 10 gallon, you could go with one dwarf gourami, and maybe 2 or 3 cory cats to take care of the bottom of the tank, and an otto or two for algae control....

If, as you say, you are not good at raising fish, it is going to be hard to keep a 10-gal in good shape. Small tanks are much harder than larger tanks, and a 20-gal would be easier and more forgiving of errors. That being said, I will second lmw80's suggestion. I have a dwarf gourami (one of the most colorful FW fish that is readily available) with cory cats and snails in a 15-gal, and have kept one in a 10 like that as well. If you understand the nitrogen cycle and get test kits, and do regular water changes, you should have a good start. Let us know if you need info on any of these topics, and good luck! (Read the FW articles section for excellent info)