Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-03-2013, 03:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Fish limit

How many fishes can I put in at a time in a tank?
__________________

__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post
How many fishes can I put in at a time in a tank?
That depends. Is your tank cycled? I wouldn't go adding a butt load of fish unless you have a QT tank to make sure they are not carrying anything and that they are healthy.
__________________

__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
If this tank is cycled I would say maybe 1-2 fish at a time per 10 gallons would be a decent rule of thumb for a safe transition
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshenanagins View Post

That depends. Is your tank cycled? I wouldn't go adding a butt load of fish unless you have a QT tank to make sure they are not carrying anything and that they are healthy.
Yes it's cycled. So what's the lucky number? Lol
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
If this tank is cycled I would say maybe 1-2 fish at a time per 10 gallons would be a decent rule of thumb for a safe transition
And how long should I wait to add another 2?
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
I would probably give it a week to add more. This is a conservative estimate to keep any potential problem from ammonia / nitrite. If you are diligent about testing your water parameters and doing water changes if anything is out of whack you should be able to add more.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
I would probably give it a week to add more. This is a conservative estimate to keep any potential problem from ammonia / nitrite. If you are diligent about testing your water parameters and doing water changes if anything is out of whack you should be able to add more.
Exactly you don't want to overload your bacterial capacity. How big is this tank again?
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Did you do a fishless cycle? If so is your tank processing 4ppm of ammonia completely in 24 hours? Reason I'm asking is because a tank cycled this way literally gives you a very high BB count which allows for a heavy stocking right off the bat.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshenanagins View Post

Exactly you don't want to overload your bacterial capacity. How big is this tank again?
My tank is 29 gallon. I have a sugarstripe pleco and 2 black guppies.
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Did you do a fishless cycle? If so is your tank processing 4ppm of ammonia completely in 24 hours? Reason I'm asking is because a tank cycled this way literally gives you a very high BB count which allows for a heavy stocking right off the bat.
No I did a cycle with fishes in it. Im very new to this. :/
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:27 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post
No I did a cycle with fishes in it. Im very new to this. :/
That's perfectly fine to do How long has this tank been set up?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:41 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post

That's perfectly fine to do How long has this tank been set up?
3 months.
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 01:43 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Everything should be good to go to add some new fish then
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:05 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
Everything should be good to go to add some new fish then
Thanks!! can you read my latest post and give me advice? Thanks
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:39 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post

Thanks!! can you read my latest post and give me advice? Thanks
Add fish, wait 24 hours, test water. If there's still ammonia or nitrIte present wait another 24 hours.
__________________

__________________
Cynic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.