Fishless Cycle PROGRESS!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bl414

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm not entirely sure what day of my cycle its on, but ive finally got progress.
After almost 3 weeks of waiting my ammonia finally went from a almost constant 4.0 to 0.25 over night. IM SO EXCITED :D

Its my first time cycling a tank, its only a 10 gallon, but after it drops to zero how much do you think i should put into it to boost it back up

I'm on the tail end of cycling my 10g tank, and was putting approximately 0.5ml of pure ammonia in the tank to re-dose it. My guess is, you are using the same method of liquid ammonia dosing that I was, so that should probably work for you.

Someone had posted a site that had a calculator that would estimate how much ammonia you could put in your tank based on tank size. I can't find it anymore, but maybe someone will have it at their fingertips and post it here?

james-yeah im probably just behind you in the process, any idea when the nitrite/trate is supposed to do its thing?

daileene- nope, i just test it every day to check the levels. I've only dosed it once when i had first put the ammonia in.

Bl414 said:
james-yeah im probably just behind you in the process, any idea when the nitrite/trate is supposed to do its thing?

It took my tank over two weeks from the point that ammonia started converting to nitrItes to see the nitrIte levels convert into nitrAtes.

Bl414 said:
I'm not entirely sure what day of my cycle its on, but ive finally got progress.
After almost 3 weeks of waiting my ammonia finally went from a almost constant 4.0 to 0.25 over night. IM SO EXCITED :D

Its my first time cycling a tank, its only a 10 gallon, but after it drops to zero how much do you think i should put into it to boost it back up