Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-21-2015, 08:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Fishless cycle with confusing parameters

Hello,
I'm doing my first fishless cycle with a 10g future betta tank. (My now well established 30g tank was cycled with danios due to my own ignorance!)

Here's what I've done so far:
1. Added the substrate (black sand) and decorations
2. Filled the tank with tap water.
3. Added the proper amount of dechlorinator
4. The next day, I added Dr. Tim's ammonium chloride until I got 4-6ppm NH4/NH3 on my liquid API test kit. I also added some filter media and decorations from my established tank.
5. 3-4 weeks later, the ammonia had not budged and the nitrite was 0. I thought maybe the ammonia was too high, so I did an 75% water change and brought it down to about 2ppm. I added some gravel from my established tank.
6. About 2 weeks after that, the ammonia finally started to go down to 1ppm. But still no nitrite.
7. Now 1 week later (tonight), I bought a set of tetra test strips - just to compare with my API liquid kit. And surprise - there were nitrates!! So I ran my full test kit and here's what I found:
pH 7.5
moderately hard
ammonia 0.5ppm
nitrite 0 (on the test strip it read as 0.5 but the API kit is 0)
nitrate 5-10

What happened here? Did the nitrite never spike? Does the ammonia need to get to zero? Or is it cycled since I have nitrate? I'm perplexed.

Of course, being at the end of my rope after 6 weeks, I just bought a bottle of tetra safestart, but now it looks like i might not need it.

Please help - I'm not sure what the next step is. Can I get fish? Do I need to add more ammonia or wait until it gets to zero. Is it normal to never see nitrites?

Thanks so much!
__________________

__________________
xander1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 08:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Yes it's normal to miss the nitrite spike. During my last fishless cycle I would get readings of zero nitrites (tested once a day). I then tested 3x one day (about 2-3 hours apart) and I was able to get a positive nitrite reading.
If you will be getting fish soon the do a big WC first and cease with the ammonia.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 10:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks for your response.

I thought maybe that was the case, since I must have had nitrites if I now have nitrates, I think.
But is it okay that the ammonia did not go to 0?
We're getting fish this weekend - should I keep the ammonia elevated up until we get them?
How long before we get the fish should I do the water change? I don't want to starve my friendly bacteria.

Thanks again!
__________________
xander1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 10:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 157
Water change about 80% 1 & 1/2 days before and then check your levels before getting fish. If it still shows ammonia do a 40% PWC

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Saekalive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 08:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander1234 View Post
Hello,
I'm doing my first fishless cycle with a 10g future betta tank. (My now well established 30g tank was cycled with danios due to my own ignorance!)

Here's what I've done so far:
1. Added the substrate (black sand) and decorations
2. Filled the tank with tap water.
3. Added the proper amount of dechlorinator
4. The next day, I added Dr. Tim's ammonium chloride until I got 4-6ppm NH4/NH3 on my liquid API test kit. I also added some filter media and decorations from my established tank.
5. 3-4 weeks later, the ammonia had not budged and the nitrite was 0. I thought maybe the ammonia was too high, so I did an 75% water change and brought it down to about 2ppm. I added some gravel from my established tank.
6. About 2 weeks after that, the ammonia finally started to go down to 1ppm. But still no nitrite.
7. Now 1 week later (tonight), I bought a set of tetra test strips - just to compare with my API liquid kit. And surprise - there were nitrates!! So I ran my full test kit and here's what I found:
pH 7.5
moderately hard
ammonia 0.5ppm
nitrite 0 (on the test strip it read as 0.5 but the API kit is 0)
nitrate 5-10

What happened here? Did the nitrite never spike? Does the ammonia need to get to zero? Or is it cycled since I have nitrate? I'm perplexed.

Of course, being at the end of my rope after 6 weeks, I just bought a bottle of tetra safestart, but now it looks like i might not need it.

Please help - I'm not sure what the next step is. Can I get fish? Do I need to add more ammonia or wait until it gets to zero. Is it normal to never see nitrites?

Thanks so much!
Here is Dr. Tim himself to help answer that exact question.

__________________
jarrod0987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 08:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 157
Ditch the test strip btw. They are crap.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Saekalive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, fish, fishless, fishless cycle, meters, parameters, ram

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird water parameters during my fishless cycle? FreshObsessed Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 04-09-2012 12:37 AM
My fishless cycles confusing me MrsLoxy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 03-18-2012 08:36 PM
confusing cycle mark shirah Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 10-06-2005 01:23 PM
You're all confusing me about QT's! gear-head Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-01-2004 11:18 AM
Confusing ammonia levels Mr502go Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-09-2003 03:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.