Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2014, 08:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ciph3ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 35
Fluval 405 from saltwater to freshwater

Hi guys,

I bought a Final 405 for 29 gallon freshwater planted tank.

The person who I bought it from used it on a saltwater tank and it's been dry for about 6 months.

He also have me a Python no spill gravel vacuum thing.

Are these two things ok to use on my tank? Do I have to run it in a loop somehow to rinse it or something?

Thanks. Have an awesome day!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
ciph3ro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 10:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Run the Fluval I'm a 25 gallon tote
For 24 hours with a 10% bleach solution. Then drain everything and run for 4 hours clean water. Let air dry. Drain again and run for 4 hours with clean water again and let air dry. No media just all the baskets. You'll be fine.
__________________

__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 10:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ciph3ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 35
Prefect. Thank you so much

I'm an computer and systems engineer and I understand chemistry very well but wanted to make sure.

The experience of the people on this forum in invaluable to me.

I'll run it through a bucket next weekend.

You think it'll be too much with this plus a redundant Fluval C3. I also have an Aquaclear 50 as backup.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ciph3ro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 09:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
I run a 205 on my 40 breeder and it creates a lot of current as is. I did put my 406 on that tank to test it when I first got it and the current was too strong. IMO/E, I wouldn't put the 400 series on anything less than a 65. You could try adding a DIY spray bar for the output side as it may be of some help. I have no experience with them myself so you'd need to wait for someone else to chime in or search on AA or google for that assistance.
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 11:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 162
i'd replace the filter pads and bio rings with new ones too.
__________________
jim532 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 12:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ciph3ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 35
Yup. Good suggestion. I already ordered new pads, like 2 kilos of Biomax and polishing pads. Hopefully that is enough.

It was sold to me empty for $50 together with a 20' python gravel vac.

Can I use the same method to clean the gravel vac? Would be cool to be able to use it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ciph3ro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 12:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 162
gravel vac is a bit easier to clean. get a scrubber and soak in bleach rinse, and scrub clean all the plastic pieces as best you can thoroughly. then do it again after they air dry for bit. Throw the tubing in the garbage and buy replacement tubing at the hardware store.
__________________

__________________
jim532 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, fluval, fluval 405, fresh, freshwater, salt, saltwater, val, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any differences between the fluval 405 and fluval 406? Banana mouse General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-02-2012 12:41 PM
Need inline heater for Fluval 405 + 50 gallon freshwater tank... Gnarls Gnarlington General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 06-14-2011 12:19 PM
Is a fluval 405 overkill for a 30g deep? Bunny General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 05-08-2008 09:42 AM
Fluval 405 JTAM963 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 03-01-2007 05:16 PM
Fluval 404 VS 405 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-02-2006 05:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.