Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2013, 11:50 AM   #121
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrs.h2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitesurfjesus View Post
What's your take on anacharis plants?
Rivercats is much more knowledgeable on plants than me, but I'm pretty sure anacharis is one do the easy plants up there with water sprite, swords and crypts. I would recommend an amazon sword if you can get one, I have one in my 55g and love it. If you get one just be sure and get root tabs for it and it will be just fine, same goes for crypts as they need root tabs as well.
__________________

__________________
Mrs.h2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:13 PM   #122
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Anacharis is an easy stem plant but it will melt if any type of liquid carbon is used.
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:15 PM   #123
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kitesurfjesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 96
So no carbon in my filter system??
__________________
Kitesurfjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:20 PM   #124
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
That is carbon used in filters and is fine. Liquid carbon is products like Excel and API Leaf Zone which you add to aid in plant photosynthesis and growth.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:34 PM   #125
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
diver4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Aiken SC
Posts: 16
WOW! The knowledge on here is amazing!!!!!
__________________
diver4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:39 PM   #126
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kitesurfjesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by diver4ever View Post
WOW! The knowledge on here is amazing!!!!!
I know these people know their stuff. so much help they have helped me save my fish and tank. Great stuff for sure
__________________
Kitesurfjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:16 PM   #127
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaplantfish View Post

I have the eheim 2213, I already threw away the carbon sponge that it came with. Are you using the carbon sponge or actually the carbon? And what brand should I buy
Thanks again!
Aquaplanetfish may I suggest you start your own thread if you have questions?
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 12:05 PM   #128
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aquaplantfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleynicole View Post

Aquaplanetfish may I suggest you start your own thread if you have questions?
Absolutely, it makes more sense
Thanks!
__________________
aquaplantfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:24 PM   #129
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kitesurfjesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 96
Ok so tested the water again.

PH 6.6
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0

Seems good except now the water is really cloudy.
__________________
Kitesurfjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:26 PM   #130
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
It's just the newly added buffers doing that. Did you add crushed coral and give the small dose of baking soda to boost it? Now don't be surprized if it drops again in 1-3 days. It can keep doing that until enough buffer gets into the water to stabilize the ph. Just keep a daily check on it.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:31 PM   #131
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kitesurfjesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
It's just the newly added buffers doing that. Did you add crushed coral and give the small dose of baking soda to boost it? Now don't be surprized if it drops again in 1-3 days. It can keep doing that until enough buffer gets into the water to stabilize the ph. Just keep a daily check on it.
Yes I did do the crushed coral and the dose of baking soda. If and when it drops should I remove the crushed coral and add a new dose of it to the media bag??
__________________
Kitesurfjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:58 PM   #132
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
No you might have to add even more crushed coral and only give one more dose of baking soda. Don't do either if it stays close to where it is now.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:18 PM   #133
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kitesurfjesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 96
Cool thanks. Your are extremely helpful. Was thinking about doing a lot of plants in this tank. How many before I have to ad a co2 system?
__________________
Kitesurfjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:24 PM   #134
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
I wouldn't worry about that for quite some time. It will all depend on how much light you have, they amount and types of plants, ferts dosed. Just concentrate on getting your tank cycled and squared away for now.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:11 PM   #135
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitesurfjesus View Post
Ok so tested the water again.

PH 6.6
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0

Seems good except now the water is really cloudy.
You may also have a bacterial bloom. Dont add any chemicals to "clear" the water. It will clear on it's own.


Are you shaking the nitrate bottles when you do the nitrate test? If you don't really shake each bottle as directed the test won't work.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:13 PM   #136
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Can you post some pictures of your plants? You may have some really nitrate loving plants.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:27 PM   #137
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kitesurfjesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 96
Yes I am shaking the bottles. I will post pictures tomorrow. I have wisterias I know for sure.
__________________
Kitesurfjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:28 PM   #138
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kitesurfjesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 96
Oh and two Lilly pad bulbs that have been growing like crazy!!!!
__________________
Kitesurfjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 02:15 AM   #139
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Wisteria will really suck up nutrients. I have to keep mine really trimmed or I actually don't have enough nitrate for my other plants.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 02:29 AM   #140
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleynicole View Post
Wisteria will really suck up nutrients. I have to keep mine really trimmed or I actually don't have enough nitrate for my other plants.
Oooooh! Yet another cause of my previous protracted nitrate spike! My wisteria was going NUTS! I got sick of pruning it I pulled it all out. All in one go. You live and learn. Not all my fishies did tho
__________________

__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
community, fresh, fresh water, plant, plants

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.