General fish keeping ideas from advisors and other veterans.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SpaceButler

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi.

I'm relatively new to fish keeping. I just started in October, so I guess that's less that half a year. I feel like I'm finally getting to a point where I can (competently) manage my tanks. I understand the basic chemistries in the water that I need to be aware of; good feeding practices; and basic illness and wound treatment.

I'm just feeling like I really want to know all the minute details that I can. I don't just want to be knowledgeable enough to run a tank, I want to be able to understand 100% all that I do. When I'm confronted with a conflict of action, I want to be able to make a decision based on facts about the hobby.

I'm really wondering about you advisors and experts out there. Please give me an idea here:

-How long have you been in the hobby?
-Is most of your knowledge from a)personal experience; b) conversing with other hobbyists and former experts; c) resources (books, training, etc).
-If it's from good resources, point me to some books please. I've been to the library and read a lot, but it seems that most of what I find is for beginners.

Is my best step to take a class on ichthyology? Help me get on the springboard furthering fish keeping beyond just a diversion.

TIA

I am no expert, but I think a combination of reading (books & internet resources) and careful observation of your tank is what sets you on the road to becoming one. A degree in physiology & chemistry can't hurt either! :lol:

The best place to start on the net is the KRIB FAQ - a mirror of the site is here: http://fins.actwin.com/mirror/

This FAQ has everything you need to know as a beginner, but delves deep into the subject if you are so inclined.