Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2013, 03:26 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Then you'll have to go with low light plant's I'm afraid.
__________________

__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:27 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Check this thread out for low light, low tech planted tanks.

Low Tech Tank Show-and-Tell (low tech can be lush, too! =)
__________________

__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:32 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
So could I get away with low light plants in my tank with these bulbs, even though its a higher tank than most? Do some low light plants get tall? Does any of this light affect the stock of my fish?
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:37 AM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Light doesn't affect fish. Unless it's like a disco maybe.

Since the tank is tall, the light needs to be powerful to penetrate the water to get a good amount of lighting. Since you only have a t8 bulb (which are low light on any tank) you will only be able to grow very low-low light plants.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:48 AM   #45
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Wait! Are there converters I can get to plug into my T8 sockets to fit T5 bulbs?
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:07 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
I have t8s on my tank and there kicking out enough light to keep my 2 amazon swords very happy
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:09 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Only two plants and its in your 125 gallon tank? I want a fairly heavily planted tank though.
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:23 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Not sure about the converters, I but I personally wouldn't feel safe doing that.

And, Amazon Swords are low light plants. A couple t8 bulbs will have no problem growing them.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:18 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
I'm going planted just doing it slowly tho
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:56 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Do you have a strong current in your tank?
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:03 PM   #51
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
No mine has changeable flow speeds
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:16 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
I'm not sure if mine does or not.
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:37 PM   #53
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynic View Post
My advice is throw the Nutrafin Cycle in the bin along with the PH adjusting chemicals.

Get your hands on some pure ammonia and do a fishless cycle.

Also for tanks over 55G I normally would recommend a backup heater.

Finally what sort of filtration system will you be setting up?
I have the pure ammonia. What's my next step?
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:44 PM   #54
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPhilly25 View Post
I have the pure ammonia. What's my next step?
Read.

Tips and Tricks For Your Fastest Fishless Cycle! - Aquarium Advice

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html

__________________

__________________
Cynic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.