Going for the 55!! What to put in it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Japola44

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok so after much research and thinking...I am going to go to petsmart to buy there 55gal Top Fin tank kit. It comes with a heater, filter, hood and lights, stick on thermometer, and i cant think what else at the moment. I have only read good reviews about it.

Decor:
Just a plain white or tanish sand
Black background
I want some live plants...so if you have any suggestions on easy plants let me know!
Some caves and/or rocks
and finaly some glass bottles i have

Stocking:
My lovely Bichir
A discus or two if i can find some...
Maybe my Gouramies

Any ideas suggestions?

Possibilites are quite large, entirely dependant on what you prefer. I like cory cats for the bottom, gouramis and angel fish for the middle and hatchefish for top. I'm not an expert on discus as a community fish, I only know of people that keep them as a species only tank. You are planning to do a fishless cycle I hope?

I could offer many suggestions on stocking but it is a personal decision and should be made once you have an idea of what you are looking for in a tank. Gourami are quite colorful, at least mine certainly are. I am constantly amazed by their vibrance. Cory cats are so entertaining, I laugh myself to tears at their antics. I also love loaches, discus, angels, african cichlids. Not very much help am I? LOL

haha sorry I'm such an idiot i just realized what you were asking! I have no idea how you judge how many watts per gallon you have. But i read 2 watts per gallon was good. So i guess a 100 or 110 watts would be what i need...

for my stocking i need some bigger peaceful fish that my bichir won't try to eat. I'd like something colorful. I dont know just something fun to watch and interesting.

humm maybe a planted aquarium is a little over my head...