Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2005, 12:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: socal
Posts: 17
Going from 60 to 120 gallon tank. Cycling ?

I want to know if i transfer all my water and my 2 canister filters over to the 120 gallon tank will i still need to cycle the new tank or can i add fish right away. is was thinking if i do that and just add 20 gallons of new water every day until the tank fills.
__________________

__________________
xcuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 01:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 41
As long as you don't add any extra fish, you should be fine. Your cannister filters are carrying most of the BB from your old tank and your old bioload. Keep an eye on your params, as you may see a mini cycle from what BB you lose from your substrate, though.
__________________

__________________
thatonegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 05:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 202
You SHOULD move your existing fish at the same time to maintain bioload and prevent bacteria die-off, but you should take your time adding more fish to give the bacteria time to grow to compensate for any additional load.
__________________
2 x Goldfish - $0.09
2 x Ghost Shrimp - $0.60
Look on wife's face when she found out how much I've spent on fish related gear this month - PRICELESS

Heatware 164-0-0
bzbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 07:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 922
you will experience a mini cycle however where there only is an ammonia spike. you could use the same substrate maybe too?
__________________
Blucat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 07:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: socal
Posts: 17
both tanks are bare
__________________
xcuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 08:47 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
Cannister filters are excellent for establishing and maintaining an adaquate source of nitrifying bacteria. As long as you don't turn the filters off for more than a few hours, and use the water from your old tank, you will have no problem.
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 04:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
Are you setting up a second tank or moving the entire livestock from your 60 to the 120?
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 06:06 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to flipz
let me throw in my 2 cents that 99.9% of the bacteria is living in your substrate, your filter, and other items in the tank. there is almost nothing floating in the water itself. use the water to fill up the new tank simply for the sake of saving water, but it won't do much for preventing a cycle.

however like others said, by transferring your substrate and especially those cansiters (make sure you don't let anything dry out) you definetly won't have a problem with a cycle. you *might* get a mini-cyle, but nothing on a large scale.

and tygger, from his description i would say he's moving everything into the 120.

-brent
__________________
Come join the Ohio forum on AA!
flipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 07:24 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
flipz, I agree. The bacteria is on the surface of the items in the tank and not free floating in the water column.

If you are transferring everthing from one tank to the other and not adding any new fish, you shouldn't detect a cycle.
__________________

__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
120 gallon, 20 gallon, cycling, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100-120 gallon reef tank Ternaldo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-28-2006 10:53 PM
120 Gallon Tank tmcgee General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-01-2006 05:41 PM
Pics from my 120 gallon tank wynn Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 3 04-04-2005 09:10 PM
1150gph on a 120 gallon tank - help bluey General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-28-2004 01:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.