Goldfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Angelfish owner

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello!
I have a baby female oranda goldfish I got from my local l
Lfs. She lives in a 40 gallon tank by herself. I was wondering, 1. Should I get her a bigger tank? 2. If I kept her in the 40 gallon, would I have enough room for another goldfish? Does she need a friend? Or is she fine by herself? Any help would be appreciated, this is my first time taking care of a goldfish.

Typical recommended size for a goldfish tank is 1 for the first 30 gallons then 10g for each additional goldfish. You can go +1 fish for fancy goldfish.

So, your tank would be good for 2 more fancy goldfish. One thing to be aware of is goldfish are very messy and need a lot of filtration, so you may want to upgrade your filter or add another. Look to be able to filter 60 gallons for another goldfish.

Does your goldfish need a friend? I dont think so, but if your tank and filtration can accommodate one then some company might make it happier.

My tank has a HOB cycled filter with a sponge on the end and a sponge filter is this enough for just her?

Do you know what size tank the filters are rated for? I would expect it to be sufficient filtration for a single fish. 2 full grown goldfish? You will need filter(s) rated for 60 gallons.

Do you know what size tank the filters are rated for? I would expect it to be sufficient filtration for a single fish. 2 full grown goldfish? You will need filter(s) rated for 60 gallons.

My HOB can do 100 gallons an hour, and the sponge filter is quite big, bigger than my goldfish. That's about the best I can describe it?

Which hob do you have? At 100gal/hr it’s likely sized a bit small for a heavy stocking of goldfish

I run an ac70 (300gal/hr) on my 29gal that’s heavily goldfish stocked and it can hold its ground. Water quality is great