Goldfish - am I doing this right?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

redlum777

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i figured i'd give you knowledgeable folk the run down of my goldfish aquarium - i just want to make sure i'm on the right track and doing right by my little guys. the tank set up is about 2 months old at this point and admittedly, i'm new to fish.

soooo... i've got 2 goldfish in a 20 gallon (black moor and oranda - both on the small side of medium sized, if that makes sense!). the tank was a freebie and i realize that they'll probably need more room at some point - a bridge i'll cross when i come to it. i've got java fern in the tank - i was told it would help keep it clean. not sure if that's the case, but it looks great, the fish leave it alone and the plants themselves appear to be very happy (they're sprouting babies!).

feeding: they get sinking pellets most days (twice a day), a couple times a week i give them dried baby shrimp and once a week they get peas. any thoughts on room for improvement?

maintenance: every other week i vacuum and do a 20 % water change and once a month i change the filter. i've had the water checked several times and it's been great each time - so i assume i'm doing it right, but again - there's always room for improvement - thoughts? i overheard talk in my fish store the other day in regards to using aquarium salt to condition the water and for the health of the fish - does this go for goldfish as well? if so, how much is recommended?

thanks in advance!

one plant really wont do much of anything. i would be doing 50% weekly water changes. as for the filter you shouldnt change the media. just was it out in old tank water. this is where most of the bacteria lives.

salt isnt needed unless treating for a problem.