Goldfish question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vindu

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to having aquariums but have been doing a lot of reading. I recently competed cycling my tank ( 25g ). I have one fantail goldfish which pretty close to the limit for this tank. The question is will this goldfish be lonely? I gotten mixed info on this from searching on google. And if I add an additional goldfish won't that make my tank overstocked?

1- goldfish are schooling so ideally they are in a school. The exact minimum number of a school varies from person to person and is arbitrary, butI consider it to be 6. So try to get as close to this as possible (not really an option in a 25).

2-Tank stocking has more to do with water changes than tank volume. You could have two goldfish in there as long as you do enough water changes to keep the nitrate concentration under 20ppm before a water change. The basic guide of 20 gallons for one and an additional 10 for each additional goldfish is a godo guide, but it is that, a guide. It is not a rule. Your water changes can make one in a 55 overstocked, or two in your 25 perfectly fine.

You could definitely do one more goldfish, imo. It would keep your goldie company and 25 would be close to ideal for 2 as long as you were vigilant on your water changes and parameters.

Fishguy2727 said:
1- goldfish are schooling so ideally they are in a school. The exact minimum number of a school varies from person to person and is arbitrary, butI consider it to be 6. So try to get as close to this as possible (not really an option in a 25).