Good news :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NekoOo

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm a newbie who had 8 goldfish in a 10gallon, which I recently re-homed four hours away to a nice couple with a large pond. While I was really upset about my goldfish whom I <3'd a lot, my mood was uplifted when I returned home to find my pleco and my mystery snail much happier.

The pleco isn't harassed at feeding time and my snail, who used keep his antennae inside his shell most of the time, is now letting it all hang out and is zooming around the tank like a madman! :D

And even better news!! I've been trying to convince my dad to get into the hobby for a while now, and I've finally inspired him to take it seriously and be devoted. He is going to make a 60gallon (maybe larger) aquarium out of acrylic so we can have a community tank in the living room. My pleco and snail will be put in there when it's all up and cycled.

So with that in mind, what would be good stocking for 60g? My dad wants a small schooling fish of some kind, preferably tropical and bright :) any tropical freshwater fish that school really well? And any thoughts on 'center piece' fish would be appreciated too. I will be doing a ton of research before choosing compatible fish, I'd just like a place to start!

Thanks all, and man am I glad this website exists. :D

Hey! Welcome!
Um I'd recommend tetras! They come in all different sizes and colours and they school amazingly! :) they get along with like any fish as well!

Discus are not recommended for starters at all... Very picky fish and you need to pick fish that get along with them! I would HIGHLY not recommend Discus to start