Gourami Playing or Harassing?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maltimomma

Aquarium Advice Freak
In my 55g I have had 2 blue and 2 gold gouramis for about 3 months. Yesterday I added 2 opanine gouramis. The largest of the blues has been chasing after the opalines. Theres no nipping just chasing. Should I be concerned? Also this morning 2 of my rosy barbs (in the same tank) were wildly going in a tight circle, head to tail, around each other. Again no nipping. I think they are a male and female. The other 2 rosy barbs would jump in for a brief second, but it was mainly just the 2. Any ideas?:ermm:

I'm no expert, but I do have 3 in my tank, and they chase all the time, and the barbs, there has never been any nipping just chasing, and the occasional head but when they bump into each other. They are all heathy, colourful and happy so I see it as playing. Unless you see nipping or a behaviour change, like sitting at the bottom or laying on deco, I wouldn't worry too much.

Gourami's are fairly territorial. Adding them all at once and sometimes that many will all find a place to call their own. Adding after some have claimed the territory and they'll fight to the death to protect what is "theirs".

You might try re-arranging the decor to throw them off balance and they might claim new territory and hopefully work it out amoung themselves. But, keep an eye on things and if you need to intervene to save a life, do so. Some Gourami's are more aggressive than others.

The Barbs are probably just courting. That's a good sign <wink>.

6 blue gouramis in a 55 gallon is alot - especially if there aren't sufficient hiding places and territories.

Are there any females in the bunch? that would help ease the aggression.