gravel versus sand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dubleshortlatte

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I currently have a few smaller tanks, including a 6 gal and a 2.5 gal, and I'm "upgrading" to a 12 gal setup. I plan to have the following fish in the new 12 gal:

3 platies
4-7 balloon mollies (I currently have 3 adults and 4 juvenilles that I need to find homes for)
1 juli cory catfish
1 male betta

My question is regarding substrates...gravel v. sand. I've never used sand before, but I hear it would be better for my catfish and make cleaning wastes easier. What are your opinions? What are the pros and cons of sand and gravel?

Thanks!

I prefer sand and have recently changed the substrate to sand in 2 more tanks. The pros are easier to clean, looks more natural. Pool filter sand is cheaper than gravel. There are no cons IMO, you either have to stir the sand up or you have to get MTS to do it for you.

Before adding all of those fish to the tank, you may want to reconsider the quantity that you're going to add. IMO that would be overstocking. Plus, the Cories like to be in groupings of at least 5.

Now onto your actual question. :D

Sand: Easy to clean, easy to maintain, no debris being sifted through it causing high nitrates, easy to aquascape, looks great, but you do have to stir it at water changes to prevent gas buildups.

Gravel: Hmmm, can't think of any pros. LOL Ok, so I am biased towards sand. :D

As Zagz said, check out Pool Filter sand. It's all I use in my tanks and it is a HECK of a lot cheaper than the lfs sand. Plus, it looks great. The cories will definately benefit from sand as long as it isn't jaggid.

all right, thanks for the input. ;)