Green Spotted Puffer-constipated

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

clivingston99

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I am a newbie to the group. My green spotted puffer fish, Dave is 2 and half year old. Lives by himself in a 20 gallon long tank. His water parameters are as follows: salinity 1.010. Water temp 81:amonia 0 nitrite o and nitrates 0. Ph 8.2. Sand substrate. Double filtration. Airation. Diet : mainly pellets since freeze dried krill. W/c every 2 weeks.

I noticed 2 weeks ago. Stand off-ish behavior not eating. ( think I overfed and filter was full of gunk. Did 3 consecutive w/c. Finally enticed with bloodworms soaked in garlic. Devoured it. Then next night took some bites out of clam in a half shell. Then no appetite for a few days. Tried 2 Epsom salt baths ( 10 min) .currently trying low dosage of Epsom salth in tank (1/8 teaspoon = 5 gallons for 24-48 hours. After 2 days of north eating put in a ghost shrimp ( his first hunt). He devoured it !!.

He appears more hungry and aliitle more active. Soaking food in diluted Epsom salt solution. He ate a ghost shrimp yesterday ( his first hunt!). And one this morning .

He hasn't pooped for a week (at least). I'm worried about my baby. Any suggestions will greatly be appreciated. Thank you.

Yours eats pellets?!? That's amazing.. post a pic. If hes eating than hes healthy.. healthy enough.. sick fish typically do not eat. A sick puffer will probably still eat a little?? Try frozen spirulina brine shrimp. Mine love it and it keeps everything moving to its final destination... anyways.. post a pic. Let's see how he looks.

http://photos.app.goo.gl/6V3HALd5JM8qmT7W6

Hi