Green spotted puffer fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

POLARBEAR0871

Aquarium Advice Addict
So I just got a green spotted puffer fish as you can tell. Bu my problem with it is that it turned black once I put it in my aquarium any reason for this.

Is this the fish fe fe? Looks like a figure 8 puffer. Im not an expert on puffers, but I know a little. What part turned dark?

No I just recently bought a green spotted puffer I named it big G it's belly is black and along with a little bit of it top

Is the tank he's in cycled and established? Any tank mates? Usually black happens when they are really stressed or water quality issues. I've heard some go back to normal coloring with lights out for a bit to help settle in.

Yes tank is cycled it's been running for almost a year now and it only has fefe as a tank mate and they seem to be fine together

I've seen f8 and gsp together in pet stores but not long term. Any territory issues? How big is the tank? It could just be from stress. I know they are very sensitive to ammonia but shouldn't be an issue in established tank. Definitely keep lights out, but monitor him.

It's a 40 gallon tank with about 7-8 plants in it and sand instead of rocks I do know they're somewhat brackish right

Most puffers are kept/sold in fresh water and need to be slowly brought up to brackish. If he was in fresh and you put him in brackish immediately that will cause problems.

Eventually both puffers will need to be in brackish but I'm really not sure you want to keep them together. The 40 gallon is minimal tank size for both these fish at the moment. They may look small but they are messy. I really think the black could be from stress. Just keep a close eye on them.