Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-23-2013, 08:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Hardness level.

Hi everyone,
So, hopefully in the near future I will be getting a whole house R\O system because my tap is at 430 ppm hardness and 85 nitrates. Anyway, the R\O will bring the hardness ppm level down to 0... Basically, my question is can freshwater fish (mollies, guppies, CPD's and Danio Erythromicron after my plants are grown.) thrive at 0 ppm hardness?
Thank you, everyone!
__________________

__________________
mollymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
When you use straight RO water in aquariums you have to reconstitute minerals back into it. Products like Seachem Equilibrium for planted tanks or Seachem Replenish for fish only tanks.
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
When you use straight RO water in aquariums you have to reconstitute minerals back into it. Products like Seachem Equilibrium for planted tanks or Seachem Replenish for fish only tanks.
Hi Rivercats,
Thanks for the advice that should work, just wondering though, is there any other options?
Thanks
__________________
mollymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
If you go to using all RO water in your tank that is your option... you have to restore some minerals.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
If you go to using all RO water in your tank that is your option... you have to restore some minerals.
Okay thanks so much!
__________________
mollymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.