Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-03-2013, 06:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rud2131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nogales, AZ
Posts: 11
Question Hello! Would you mind helping a fellow newbie?

So I started a new 10 gallon tank this Saturday (6/1/13) and I decided to add some TSS add my dwarf gourami which was in my other 20 gal. tank because my 2 platies were nipping on his fins :/ How long would it take for my 10 gal to cycle? Would he be ok there?
__________________

__________________
Rud2131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Hi Rud! Welcome to AA!
It really depends on how strong that certain fish is! I switched tanks and slowly administered all my fish (which were only about 8 into a 50 gal.) so that nothing would spike, and one of my mollies died, but the other mollies were fine, so were the danios and guppies! All of those fish are very hardy...I'm not sure about the gourami, I haven't had much experience with gouramis...Also, cycling a tank is anywhere from 6-8 weeks OR it can take even 3 months! It depends on your water.
Hope I helped!!!
__________________

__________________
mollymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rud2131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nogales, AZ
Posts: 11
Thanks! So even if I added SafeStart it would take 6-8 weeks?
__________________
Rud2131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DeathclawRowe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 354
I never trust safestart just saying. I think getting established water from someone else's fish tank may work better
__________________
DeathclawRowe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DeathclawRowe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 354
Prime works very well btw, lowers nitrates and ammonia and stuff. So it may work better when you are cycling
__________________
DeathclawRowe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
If you have some extra filter media from your other tank, then you could add it to the new tanks filter and cycle more quickly. This will seed your BB more reliably then the Tetra Safe Start.

If not, then you will essentially be doing a Fish-In cycle, so be prepared for the extra work thats involved with that.
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DeathclawRowe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyne View Post
If you have some extra filter media from your other tank, then you could add it to the new tanks filter and cycle more quickly. This will seed your BB more reliably then the Tetra Safe Start.

If not, then you will essentially be doing a Fish-In cycle, so be prepared for the extra work thats involved with that.
Agreed
__________________
DeathclawRowe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rud2131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nogales, AZ
Posts: 11
Ok. I just came back from testing my water for the 20 at petsmart and the ammonia was .5,nitrite was .5, and nitrate was 20. What would that mean? I read on a site that once my ammonia and nitrites are at 0 and nitrates go up its cycled. Is THIS true? Sorry for all the qestions I'm just a little concerned.
__________________
Rud2131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DeathclawRowe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 354
Ammonia will spike when cycling so I'd use a buffer such as prime or stress coat to get your fish through it.
__________________
DeathclawRowe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:49 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DeathclawRowe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 354
If you threw some fish such as platys or glofish in the aquarium it would cycle in a month or so maybe 3 weeks at the fastest but even that's pushing it. You can always use breeder cages to separate individual fish for the time being.
__________________
DeathclawRowe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 10:37 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
You'd be better off doing water changes. Then you're actually removing the bad stuff. Try to keep ammonia an nitrites below .25ppm. Anything higher and you risk health issues.
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 10:39 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
You need to read this article and do not add any other fish. You have a 20g tank which means you have a filter on it. Remove the media and cut part of it off and put it in the 10g new filter. Then follow what the article says. I also suggest you get your own API master test kit as you need to monitor your water for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrates every day. Any time your ammonia or nitrite gets above .25 you need to do a 50% WC. Even if it means a WC every day until the tank is cycled (which you won't have to do that but I'm trying to make a point). Adding water from another cycled tank doesn't help as there is almost no beneficial bacteria in water. The tank is cycled when ammonia and nitrites are both 0 and there is a readable amount of nitrates.

I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 01:54 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rud2131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nogales, AZ
Posts: 11
Thanks for the help guys. I guess I'll have to take him back :/ and I'll pick some zebra danios up in replacement to better cycle my tank. Thanks again.
__________________

__________________
Rud2131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.