Help! Cloudy Water problems!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

heatherwright88

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
b8a60192c9f41e364d35127f4a4dc8f7.jpg
<br /><br />I am new to this I upgraded from a 1 1/2 gallon fish tank to a 10 gallon thinking it would fix my cloudy water issue. I use spring water plus safe start. I have had the 10 gallon for about 3 weeks now with 2 25% water changes and 1 50%. I also quit feeding daily just everyother day. It was cloudy by the next morning after upgrading to the 10 gallon.<br /><br />Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

Hi there
Is very common for new tanks to go cloudy in the early stages, if I was you I would stop doing water changes and you should see within a week it starting to clear then you can carry on doing water changes.

They have solutions for cloudy water treatment but it's usually best to find the cause & fix it. Over feeding, new set ups, improper filtration are my guess. Is your filters, media adequate for tank size ? Clean your filtration system, feed no more than 2-3 times a day only as much as they will eat within a few min & discard any leftovers. Invest in Prime conditioner. It is the best & only water additive you'll need. Proper water changes & check water regularly.

Thank you for your reply so. My tank has an Aqua-Tech 5-15 gallon filter and My tank consists of 4 glo fish, 1 algae eater, and 1 goldfish looking fish... it looks a littler clearer today but some water has evaporated. I'm not sure if I should just top it off or do another water change being as it is getting clearer. I don't want to mess up the cycle.

How long ago did you do your last water change ? What are your lvls or have you tested them ?