HELP! Is new 20g tank Still Cycling?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

doefangs

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a complete newbie and have had my tank for 5 1/2 weeks now. For a good amount of it in the beginning, I had lots of ammonia and was told by my lfs that if I do a water change, it should get rid of it. So I listened to them and did a 75% water change. That drastically cut down my ammonia. They also told me I could do another 20% water change, which I did this past weekend. Now, I don't know if I was supposed to do all of that?
I'm aware of the ammonia to nitrite to nitrate cycle, but now I don't know if my tank is even cycled/was ever cycled due to seeing ammonia still (in a smaller amount compared to 8pm before). My lfs is telling me these would be good parameters for me to start putting fish in, but is that the case?? My lfs was even telling me it should be "a little bit more orange, but it's fine" for my nitrate and "0.25 is a level fish can handle" when I know I should be aiming for no ammonia. I'm just feeling so confused!

I attached a picture of my most recent test I did today.

Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 0ppm
pH: 7.2

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Y5V2L-rirHLz1MS2dClT4LgEWl1D4AOV/view?usp=sharing

I dont think you are cycled.

Even though you say you had ammonia it doesnt sound like you was dosing ammonia regularly through the 5 week you mention. If you was dosing ammonia, how did you do this? The ammonia you originally had was probably coming out of the substrate or some other source, and once it was gone through your water changes there was no more going into the tank to cycle it. In a cycled tank you should see nitrate.