Help Keeping Cory Catfish Alive

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

willisjames

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there! Newbie here who needs help/advice keeping a single, solitary Cory catfish alive, lest it perish and break my 4-year-old daughter’s heart. A bit of background:

There’s been a recent death in my family. Several days earlier, in an attempt to raise spirits, someone arrived with a gift for the ill relative: a small green Cory in a 3-gallon tank. Turns out the person who purchased it basically walked into a pet store, bought a 3-gallon tank, poured water into it, and threw the fish in. Long story short, my daughter fell in love with the fish and has since inherited it, leaving me to deal with a fish struggling in a small, uncycled tank.

Since my 4-year-old has been bugging me for a fish tank (and since I was now in “fish survival” mode), we made a trip to the local pet shop and she is now the proud owner of a 10-gallon tank. So here’s the question; since I now have two uncycled tanks, any thoughts as to which one, the 3- or the 10-gallon, the Cory’s got a better chance of surviving the cycle in? I considered trying to give the fish to someone else with an established tank (if I could find such a person), but my daughter’s current emotional state, based on recent events, is such that she can’t bear to be without the fish (it actually stays in her bedroom with her)…hence my desire to keep it alive, if possible.

I’ve owned tanks in the past, so I’m familiar with the cycle, testing, etc., and am willing to hover over these tanks and do as much as I have to as often as I have to. But I’ve always gone fish-free when it came to cycling, so I’m a bit in the dark here. Based on the tests I’ve done on both tanks, the levels are indicating neither one is very far along in the cycle.