Help Me Please!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

krazykrystal16

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new at this fish thing.......... and i have a few hundred questions (hee hee). We bought a fish tank 3 weeks ago, got the levels all good and bough a few fish last week-end!
So..... this is what we 1st got- 10 neon tetras and 2 angel fish, they did so well that we went a few days later and got a silver dollar, 2 red parots and a sucker! The parots seem to be very aggressive, we have had 5 neon's go missing and the other fish seem so sad....... we have taken 1 of the parots out and placed it in a tank on its own. BUT what do u guys think should i get rid of the parots... because we LOVE the angel and neons.
I live in a very small town.... and it seems like the pet store we went to dosent know anything about it, i keep calling and asking them BUT they alwayz say they dont know or try and guess.
Im juust going to make a list of the things i would like to know hopefully someone can HELP me!
- how often do i feed and how much?
- when do i turn lights on and off?
- what is the best temp. to keep it at?
-the water is a little cloudy, but levels are all good what do i do?
-How often should i change water (and how much) ?
-should i have real plant life in the tank?
I really hope someone can help me!!! Thank-you for taking the time to read this!

First what size tank do you have? Then have you cycled your tank, it does not sound as if you have. What are the parameters on your tank PH, nitrates, nitrites, and ammonia. You will want to get a liquid test kit such as API freshwater master test kit. That sould get you started so that we can get a better understanding of what is going on in your tank.