Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-23-2014, 04:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Help me stock my tank with nice looking fish!

Hi, i'm new to fishkeeping and have a 36 gallon bowfront tank using an aqeuon quietflow 55 filter, and the tank is in the process of being heavily planted. It's been running for about a month now. Currently I have:

3 honey gourami
3 oto catfish
1 siamese algae eater.

I'm looking for some good centerpiece fish. Easy to care for, and nice to look at! I was thinking rainbowfish, or dwarf cichlids? Any reccomendations would be awesome!

Old 07-23-2014, 04:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

You should take a look at getting a pair blue rams. They would be a perfect pair plus they are good community fish so they won't upset any of the other fish and you can get other fish

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Your friendly fish friend
sidgolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:11 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidgolding View Post
You should take a look at getting a pair blue rams. They would be a perfect pair plus they are good community fish so they won't upset any of the other fish and you can get other fish

Are rams easy to care for?
Old 07-23-2014, 06:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist

Yes. All they need is a good hiding place and a flat stone. Get a pair and they'll breed aswell but won't be crazy amounts

Old 07-23-2014, 06:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist

It's sometimes difficult to get healthy stock and they can be temperamental acclimating. Bolivian Rams are sturdier fish.

Rainbow cichlids are beautiful and relatively peaceful for a cichlid.

Old 07-24-2014, 03:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonfishaddict View Post