Help!! Newbie here!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emlindsey

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all,

I setting up my first 50 gallon tank here. Before I get everything, I want to know what fish to get? I'm not sure what to put in there. I was debating between betta or mollies, but i thought 50 gallon might be too big for betta. What can live with mollies? Guppies?

Please let me know! And how many of each could live peacefully with eachother? Sorry for the stupid questions..:(

50 gallons is pretty decent size, you could put quite a few mollies or guppies. The thing is both have live babies so unless you have some bigger fish as a centerpiece that will snack on the babies they will eventually over crowd and you’ll have to take some out periodically and take them to a fish store to get rid of them. Don’t get me wrong though even when there’s a fish that will eat the babies in the tank there will always be some babies manage to survive from hiding. I have a 60 gallon that has 2 angels and 2 Bolivian rams as my main center piece fish, 2 for top 1/2 of tank 2 for bottom 1/2 of the tank. FYI platties also have live babies

You can put a betta in a 50 with other less flashy smaller finned fish. Just don't keep them with gourami or guppies or fish known to nip fins.

I was thinking about getting maybe 3-4 marbled mollies. If I got a betta, I would want a female.. Do I need to get 2-3? Or will one work? What other fish can I get witha betta?

I read that you should get fish in schools as they get lonely without. But I am worried about overpopulating the tank.

I was thinking about getting maybe 3-4 marbled mollies. If I got a betta, I would want a female.. Do I need to get 2-3? Or will one work? What other fish can I get witha betta?